End of Year Survey 2015

It’s my first time doing one of these, and possibly, if I stick with these journal-esque posts instead of full blazing BOOK BLOGGER MODE! then it’s probably going to be my last one on allthingswordy. Probably.

Yet, things aren’t so gloomy! I mean a) I have never done this survey before (it’s been running for six years, three of which I’ve been blogging for) and b) Science & Books is up and running and I have full PIZAZZ plans for that one. Until then, here goes!

This survey is from Jamie @ Perpetual Page Turner and here are the questions available for your scrutiny.

2015 Reading Stats

Number Of Books You Read: 43

Number of Re-Reads: 7

Genre You Read The Most From: Romance

Best in Books

1. Best Book You Read In 2015?

nothing to envyNothing to Envy by Barbara Demick – a nonfic about life in 90s North Korea.


2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

How to Make a Universe With 92 Ingredients by Adrian Dingle. It was supposed to be my raving science book, but it doesn’t really do what the title says.

 3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read?

Honour by Elif Shafak because it includes so many references to my life, where I live, my parents’ life experiences etc.  

 4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did)?

Again, Honour. Our school got a bunch of World Book Night books and I shoved Honour down my friends’ throats and we had a glorious book-club moment afterwards.

 5. Best series you started in 2015? Best Sequel of 2015? Best Series Ender of 2015?

Oh my days. Best series I started is Storm and Silence by Rob Thier (available on Wattpad, lovelies). The others I haven’t read this year.

 6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2015?

ELIF SHAFAK FOR THE WIN.

ALSO: BARBARA KINGSOLVER.

7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?

All the Death is My BFF series books (available on Wattpad, again) are in the Paranormal genre although the author is snazzing it up in a Rewritten version that is more fitting for the Romance genre. :/

I loved the story because of the Paranormal features and the slow-burn romance – a combination I was sorely lacking during my YA Paranormal burnout session since ’12. Yeah, THAT LONG.

 8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?

All Quiet on the Western Front. Once I got into it I was freakin’ reciting passages out loud in public.

 9. Book You Read In 2015 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

All Quiet on the Western Front, and in the English Lit student way: The Great Gatsby. 

10. Favourite cover of a book you read in 2015?

The Great Gatsby is beautiful, it has been ever since I first read it three years ago. However my favourite for this year is the cover for Like Hell where the little girl is falling down: it’s simplistic but spunky. (Available on Wattpad).

wattpad logo and dp

11. Most memorable character of 2015?

Don Tillman FTW.

 12. Most beautifully written book read in 2015?

The Poisonwood Bible is hands down gorgeous. I was drooling, man, drooling.

13. Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2015?

Twin Truths by Shelan Rodger. It left me reeling, and planted thoughts in my head I have yet to get out.

 14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2015 to finally read? 

I can’t believe I waited so long to finish [sic] (available on Wattpad). The ending left me reeling and it messed with my philosophical tendencies.

 15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2015?

TOO MANY.

“…The silence spreads. I talk and must talk. So I speak to him and say to him: “Comrade, I did not want to kill you. If you jumped in here again, I would not do it, if you would be sensible too. But you are only an idea to me before, an abstraction that lived in my mind and called forth it appropriate response. It was that abstraction I stabbed. But now, for the first time, I see you are a man like me. I thought of your hand-grenades, of your bayonet, of your rifle; now I see your wife and your face and our fellowship. Forgive me comrade. We always see it too late. Why do they never tell us that you are just poor devils like us, that your mothers are just as anxious as ours, and that we have the same fear of death, and the same dying, and the same agony — Forgive me, comrade; how could you be my enemy? If we threw away these rifles and this uniform you could be my brother just like Kat and Albert. Take twenty years of my life, comrade, and stand up — take more, for I do not know what I can even attempt to do with it now.”

All Quiet on the Western Front by Enrich Remarque

If you look at satellite photographs of the far east by night, you’ll see a large splotch curiously lacking in light.

Nothing to Envy by Barbara Demick

While I was dreaming of becoming a boy and contemplating all sorts of other mysteries, things were happening under my nose that I didn’t see. Later on I would recall that moment, realising it was the point at which ordinary life as I had known it fractured and we all began to slip, one after another, into some other realm, where too much happened too fast.

Honour by Elif Shafak

16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2015?

Mismatched Compatibility (Wattpad) is 53 pages, and The Poisonwood Bible is 614 pages.

 17. Book That Shocked You The Most

[sic] – because I thought I’d figured it out once we got to the very end (like, only two paragraphs left sort of end) and those two goddamn paragraphs made my jaw drop. I wanted to throw it across the room, but hey phones are valuable these days. [sic]

18. OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!)

LILY AND RIKKARD AMBROSE FTW. Book 2 is coming out next year and I’m absolutely brimming with excitement!

19. Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year

 Oh yes, the mother and daughter relationship in The Poisonwood Bible is brilliant!

20. Favorite Book You Read in 2015 From An Author You’ve Read Previously

City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare. EEK I HAVE ALL THE SERIES THAT HAVE BEEN PUBLISHED BY HER ON THIS WORLD PLUS THE BANE CHRONICLES PLUS THE SHADOWHUNTER CODEX AND FANGIRL MODE ACTIVATED.

21. Best Book You Read In 2015 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure:

Fangirl – it was…reassuring.

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2015?

DEATH.

23. Best 2015 debut you read?

I haven’t read any – not a debut person as of yet.

24. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year?

Nothing to Envy. 

nothing to envy quote

25. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read?

Mrs Pepperpot Stories.

26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2015?

One Day, Nothing to Envy, The Poisonwood Bible.

27. Hidden Gem Of The Year?

[sic] people need to appreciate it more (I mean, it’s free). 

28. Book That Crushed Your Soul?

All Quiet on the Western Front WHY ARE EMOTIONS SO EASILY MANIPULATED WHY.

29. Most Unique Book You Read In 2015?

Enjoy Your Life, it’s one of the biggest books I’ve ever read (it’s a hardcover copy y’know) and as a “self-help” book it’s pretty unique in that it’s just a bunch of anecdotes.

30. Book That Made You The Most Mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?

Nothing to Envy probably, and also All Quiet on the Western Front.

Your Blogging/Bookish Life

1. New favourite book blog you discovered in 2015?

Brain Pickings is a gorgeous book blog, one that I hope to somehow emulate someday on allthingswordy. Her reviews are extraordinarily beautiful and insightful.

  2. Favourite review that you wrote in 2015?

Wait, I wrote reviews this year? :O

Curious by Ian Leslie got a lot of views!

  3. Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog?

A Revision of Five Goals got a lot of press, and I’m really happy it did.

trees, person

  4. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?

I can’t remember participating in anything (not even in virtual events, I know). I mean apart from Top Ten Tuesday I don’t do much. *shrugs*

  5. Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2015?

When I realised that even if I changed directions, and I moved my focus onto another blog I still have this and that I still have this community. Much love, guys.

6. Most challenging thing about blogging or your reading life this year?

Having the time to produce quality posts on a regular basis. My blogging these days has been irregular and scattered.

posting activity august 2015

7. Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog (whether it be by comments or views)?

It was a Top Ten Tuesday post on Tearjerkers.

8. Post You Wished Got A Little More Love?

I’m happy with how much love my posts got this year, but I wish my review for Honour got more views and activity (I GET IT THO, EVEN I HAVEN’T MANAGED TO FINISH READING THAT ESSAY). How much I wrote for that review actually scares me.

  9. Best bookish discover (book related sites, book stores, etc.)?

OMG Westfield has a Foyles. Also: Foyles only exists in London (say whaaaaaat). I feel blessed. They have cheaper books than Waterstones (cheaper author compilations I mean).

10.  Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?

Nah.

But if “slow down” counted, then yes…this blog is definitely in chill mode.

Looking Ahead

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2015 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2016?

So many. I have lots of books on my TBR that I’m heavily anticipating, but really the book I need to get to for next year is Reading the World by Ann Morgan (I know).

    2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2016 (non-debut)?

Lady Midnight (Dark Artifices #1) by Cassandra Clare.

3. 2016 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?

   4. Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2016?

If I haven’t already: LILY AND AMBROSE #2!!!!!

  5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2016?

Read more – this year’s been pretty poor everything-wise (I haven’t been my most productive at all) and reading was my first stress reliever y’know? So read more: it feels good. My tagline isn’t “free yourself; read more” for nothing. Those life-feels are some next-level nasties.

  6. A 2016 Release You’ve Already Read & Recommend To Everyone:

Hah.

see you in future back to the future.gif

5 thoughts on “End of Year Survey 2015

  1. These surveys are always fun to read!! (And to do, of course!) Your year in books sounds like it was really good. One of the things I wish I did more was get around to other people’s blogs more regularly. I’m trying to take more things off my plate this year so I can because I always discover new things and have good discussions when I do. But I’m also balancing that with all the ‘offline’ things I want to do aaahaha :’D

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh yes getting to people’s blogs is great. There’s so much wonderful talent out there. Plus you’re really cool with discussions Nikki so I’m guessing it’ll be even more incredibly fun!

      Like

Leave a Reply

